Rebecca's Gluten Free Blog

Gluten Free in the Upper Midwest

Five Guys Burgers & Fries November 19, 2009

I recently went to Five Guys Burgers and Fries in St Cloud. it was so exciting! first of all, as you walk in, there are boxes of peanuts in the shell and cardboard holders, so you can grab what you’d like to snack on as you wait for your food.

then for the burgers, the buns are grilled on a completely separate grill from the burgers. and it appears from the website that the only gluten there is in the restaurant is the buns, although I plan to call the corporate office and verify that for sure. so I believe that all the ingredients are fair game, and they have a huge list to choose from, and I don’t think they charge extra for any of them (unless you get a bacon burger).

the burgers tasted great too! it was two thin patties, but super juicy. they reminded me of when I used to eat Culvers’ butterburgers. maybe the fact that I had pickles on my burger, just like I did at Culvers made me think of them, I don’t know. but they were unbelievably tasty, and I didn’t even notice the lack of bun.

the only thing they fry there are fresh-cut potatoes in peanut oil. there was a seasoning, which I skipped just in case, and I think there was even a separate fryer to make unseasoned fries. they tasted just like MN state fair fries~ really good! the large size is good enough for about 3 people, it was really big, especially since we’d already filled up on peanuts ๐Ÿ™‚

all in all, it’s my new favorite burger joint! (and budget-friendly!) there are few places where we can get fries (in dedicated fryers) with our burgers, and they usually seem so plain without buns, but I didn’t feel like anything was lacking at my Five Guys meal. I highly recommend it.

Five Guys Burger and Fries locations in Minnesota include St Cloud, Duluth, and the Minneapolis/ St Paul metro (Maple Grove and Edina). locations in Wisconsin are in theย  Green Bay, Madison, and Milwaukee areas.

 

4 Responses to “Five Guys Burgers & Fries”

  1. I Just bookmarked your blog! I Have it right up there on my task bar ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks again for another great post. Willow Ringen

  2. Lisa Says:

    I am still waiting for the Five Guys to open in Green Bay. I work pretty close and can’t wait to try it.

  3. Healing123 Says:

    We got glutened in edina mn asked for glove change, tongs too, disappointed

    • rebeccagf Says:

      I’m sorry that you got sick from there. I hesitate in approving comments about getting sick, because I’m sure every restaurant offering gluten free food accidentally contaminate people at some point. but my suggestion is just to always explain as carefully as possible to them what your needs are, try to go at less busy times, and keep an eye on them making your food if possible (as it is at Five Guys). and if you go there fairly regularly, find 1-2 people that you know who do it well, and always request them. when I used to frequent the Five Guys Edina location more regularly, I always had the same woman make my meal, and she did a great job (and was flattered that I always wanted her to prepare my food). but I never just assume that any faster-food environment will make my meal properly, so I always watch them make it, and if they do something that would make me sick, and I ask them if these could please re-do it so that I won’t get sick.


Leave a Reply

