Rebecca's Gluten Free Blog

Gluten Free in the Upper Midwest

French Meadow January 6, 2010

I like to go to French Meadow when I feel like eating something fresh. they have lots of fresh and organic ingredients on their menu, which is written on giant chalkboards, but is also available on pamphlets that you can take with you. they have a little symbol to designate the gluten free items. (they also designate vegan items, if that appeals to you.) there may only be a handful or two of items designated as gluten free, but the salads are almost all easily made gluten free as well.

in fact, this is one of the only restaurants I go to, where I don’t get a specially designated GF item. my favorite is the French Meadow salad. it’s just basic greens with cherry tomatoes, a house dressing, and shredded beets (another first for me~ I usually hate beets, but the shredded ones on this particular salad are great). the only adaptation to make it GF is to get it without the bread.

if you decide to order this salad, you should know a couple of things. first, it’s really tasty~ I’ve gotten lots of people hooked on it. secondly, the small salad is plenty big. the supposed increased size of the large salad is indecipherable, the small is the best value in my opinion. finally, the best way to get it is with a side of salmon on it. (they grill it in olive oil). actually, a good tip is that any of their pan-fried fish is amazing. I don’t know what their trick is, but it’s cooked absolutely perfectly almost every time. I’ve never had such amazing fish at a restaurant. and of course, when ordering, I make sure to tell them about the “allergies”, to use clean pans and equipment, and to please let the chefs in the back know. they also make home fries, omelets, and other items gluten free.

one of the fun things about French Meadow is that they carry gluten/dairy/peanut free brownies, cookies, muffins, and cupcakes in boxes of 4 at the restaurant, so we can even have dessert!

they actually sell the cookies and brownies in the freezer section of grocery stores, along with several types of breads (cinnamon raisin, multigrain, and sandwich bread), and best of all~ gluten free flour tortillas! the tortillas taste very similar to regular wheat flour ones, but like a slightly staler (tougher) version . still a treat though! it’s best to either eat them right away or throw them in your freezer to eat them slowly over time. other than the tortillas, my next favorites are the chocolate chip cookies (which are in the grocery stores in the form of frozen cookie dough). in fact, I usually just eat the cookies in dough form 🙂

it’s fun to see them constantly developing new products for the gluten free crowd. in fact, in reviewing this post a day later, I see that there’s already new items than what I knew about: Italian dinner rolls, pizza crusts, brownie bites, and cakes.

hopefully, over time, they’ll integrate the gluten free breads and GF tortillas into their restaurant menu.

 

2 Responses to “French Meadow”

  1. minnemom Says:

    Can you tell me which stores you’ve seen the French Meadow items in? Sounds like it might be worth a trip into the metro.

    Carmyn referred me to your blog and it’s been helpful to me. I’ve been writing about my son’s restricted diet at http://foodrestrictions.wordpress.com/. Thanks for the tips!

    • rebeccagf Says:

      I’ve seen their products at many stores.

      here are places I definitely saw the products in:
      Whole Foods: breads, cookies, brownies
      Linden Hills Co-op: breads, tortillas
      Lakewinds~ Minnetonka location: cookies, brownies
      Super Targets in the area: cookies, brownies (so I’ve heard)
      Coborns Delivers: breads, brownie bites, cookies, macaroons
      French Meadow restaurant: baked & individually packaged cookies, brownies, muffins, and 4-packs of cupcakes

      I’d imagine those stores probably carry more gluten free French Meadow products than what I’ve listed, but these are what I’ve seen in passing for certain. I would think that Fresh & Natural stores, the Wedge co-op, and Tailor Made GF store in Woodbury, as well as other co-ops, probably carry these products as well, since they’re pretty commonplace around the metro, given that they’re local. just give the store a call before making a trip, to make sure that they carry the products and have some in stock.

      as a note, the breads, brownies, and cookies are found in the freezer section. the tortillas are in the refrigerated sections.


Leave a Reply

