Rebecca's Gluten Free Blog

Gluten Free in the Upper Midwest

Madwoman Foods Bakery January 26, 2010

I haven’t actually written about Madwoman Foods yet, but I have a somewhat urgent request that they’ve sent out, that I thought I’d relay.

first I’ll explain who they are and what they do. they’re a gluten free bakery, and most, if not all the products are also dairy-free. they also try and cater to the diabetic community, as their products are low glycemic. their bakery has many varieties of cupcakes, with some more unique varieties (the chocolate cupcakes with mint frosting is a favorite of mine).  another fun thing that they have is caramel rolls. I’m not sure if they carry them everyday or just on certain ones, but it’s rare to find somewhere to get fresh gluten free caramel rolls! they also make brownies, bars, cakes, etc.

a special treat (particularly in the summer) are the ice cream cones! they keep fresh gluten and dairy free ice cream in a little freezer case, and they even have gluten free ice cream cones to put them in for us! what a treat!!

I haven’t been there since I saw this recently in their newsletter, but I believe they started making (gluten-free) sandwiches for lunch or any time.

they also have a website that you can order various products from, including GFCF pizzas, flatbread, tea cakes, granola, etc.

beyond their bakery items, they also have a small retail grocery section. it was at Madwoman where I found my first bag of gluten free gnocchi in the freezer section! in fact, I hadn’t seen many of the items in their grocery section before, so it’s worth checking out.

this brings me to their urgent request… apparently times have been tough, especially this month, and they’re trying to win a grant that’s available to local businesses. it would give them the money to advertise and hopefully drum up some more business. if you would like to help them, it’s basically a popularity contest. so just go here:  http://lovealocalbusiness.intuit.com/ and enter Madwoman Foods as the business name and Minneapolis, MN as the city, and then nominate them.

another obvious way to support them would be to go check them out.  gluten free bakeries are a rarity, so it’s nice to hold on to the ones we already have. they’re located in Minneapolis, pretty far south of downtown on 35W, near the Pizza Luce in Uptown. the address is 4747 Nicollet Ave S, Minneapolis. and if you you don’t want to make the trip, or it seems a little far for you to go, they do take mail-orders online for some of the items mentioned above. between the fresh baked goods, deli sandwiches to order, the homemade ice cream, the grocery section, and the internet orders, please find a way to at least check them out. I think you’ll find it worthwhile, and will hopefully help save them in the process!

 

4 Responses to “Madwoman Foods Bakery”

  1. Helen Lapakko Says:

    I am looking for gluten free bread as good as Madwoman’s bakery. Do you know of any?

    • rebeccagf Says:

      my favorite is French Meadow’s. the white sandwich bread tastes so much like regular bread, that when they served it to me in the restaurant I anxiously waited to see if I was going to get sick! and the GF whole grain bread is delicious too. another freezer section bread I like is the Food for Life Millet bread~ it’s full of different grains, and a little thicker for great open face sandwiches or to toast for french onion soup. if you want fresh, local bread, the Bittersweet bread is pretty good too. another thicker bread. they even serve GF sandwiches on it at Crumb Deli in Eden Prairie. all three brands are dairy-free as well. I hope this helps!

  2. Admiring the hard work you put into your website and in
    depth information you present. It’s awesome to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same old rehashed information.
    Fantastic read! I’ve saved your site and I’m adding your RSS
    feeds to my Google account.

  3. Hi to all, the contents present at this website are truly amazing for people knowledge, well, keep up
    the good work fellows.


Leave a Reply

