Rebecca's Gluten Free Blog

Gluten Free in the Upper Midwest

Twin City Grill March 18, 2010

I recently visited the Twin City Grill in the Mall of America for the first time. it’s part of the Lettuce Entertain You group of restaurants, which also owns Wildfire, Maggianos, Big Bowl, and Tucchi Benucch.

we made reservations ahead of time, since it’s at the MOA, and was on a weekend. promptly after being seated, a manager came over and told us a handful of items that were gluten-free. and then we asked about a few more that she didn’t name, and those dishes were also ok, with a few adjustments. (I was disappointed that the ribs weren’t gluten-free though. I used to get my baby back ribs at Chili’s, who recently changed their recipes, and aren’t GF anymore, so I’m still on the search for more ribs we can eat!!)

anyway, the manager was great, but then our waitress seemed really put out. she seemed to be annoyed when I was ordering and making the usual comments to make sure they knew to use clean pans, and to ask if she’s flagging my order for allergies so the chefs definitely knew, etc. and then it just got worse from there. and the bill was such a mess I can’t even tell you.

but other than the poor service on the part of our waitress, the food was pretty good~ the chopped salad without noodles or bleu cheese was very tasty~ it had a dressing similar to Biaggi’s house dressing (always a favorite of mine). the walleye (which we had plain and broiled, with asparagus) was decent, but not that large of a portion~ and despite being listed as a $12 meal, they charged us $15, plus a few dollars extra for the asparagus, which we were led to believe was included. (this was only one of many bill discrepancies, mind you). not to mention that $15 for a small, plain walleye fillet seems like a bit much!

I’m hoping that our bad experience with the service was just a fluke, and that it’s usually a nicer place to go, because the food was decent, and it’s in a convenient location. however, I’m guessing we probably won’t be back anytime soon, so I can’t balance out other experiences there for my post today. (I welcome any positive comments about the place).

so please don’t let the poor service we received stop you from trying it out~ they still cooked the food well, they were knowledgeable, and there were no contamination issues. I think that with a different waiter or waitress, we could’ve had a much better experience.

and if you’re at the Mall of America and you need a place to eat, it’s nice to have some options. I believe Tucchi Benucch also has gluten-free options, though no gluten-free noodles, which is a bit disappointing for a celiac-friendly Italian restaurant. I’ve also heard that the Bubba Gump Shrimp Co. restaurant has gluten-free options, as does the Napa Valley Grill and Crave, which has a new location at the MOA. I’ve yet to try out any of these other restaurants, particularly since my celiac diagnosis. but if you’re at the MOA and need a place to eat, these are a few of the sit-down restaurant options available to the gluten-free crowd.

 

3 Responses to “Twin City Grill”

  1. Lara Says:

    Also -Crave at the MOA has a GF menu!

  2. I know I am late with this comment as you posted this blog back in 2010 but I wanted to mention to you if you haven’t figured this out by now, that Ikea actually has bbq ribs that are GLUTEN FREE. They are divine.. check them out.

  3. Oh and I have my own Gluten Free Blog too, check it out if you get the chance.
    http://gutenfreemomma.blogspot.com/


Leave a Reply

