Rebecca's Gluten Free Blog

Gluten Free in the Upper Midwest

Roscoe’s BBQ July 28, 2010

I went to Roscoe’s BBQ in Rochester this past weekend, to finally check it out. they have two locations~ one is permanent and open year-round, and the other is seasonal, where you order outside the building and sit at one of the picnic tables in the parking lot. I went to the latter.

they told me that all the meats would be safe (always double-check for yourself, of course!), and that the BBQ sauce was gluten-free. I was prepared for a pulled pork sandwich (my favorite!), so I toasted up a piece of gluten-free bread and brought it with me. the pulled-chicken looked just as good. for ribs, you could order them one by one if you wanted, or by the half or full rack. and there were other meat options as well.

I didn’t end up getting any sides, but I believe there were several options that were gluten-free (the sides differ by location). I was told that the baked beans, green beans, potato salad, mashed potatoes, broccoli salad, and black-eyed pea salad were all gluten-free.

what I liked about the menu is that you could order no sides, or 1 or 2 sides, all at different prices. so if you’d rather not order any, you don’t have to pay for them!

I pretty much knew what I would order before I got there, because I’d already spoken to the permanent restaurant about GF options. but I was relieved and impressed that the people running the seasonal location were also well-informed.

for instance, they make their own root beer. and I asked if they knew whether it was gluten-free. I figured it was a shot in the dark, and that they likely wouldn’t have any idea. but sure enough, they were prepared for my question, and it was in fact GF! it was REALLY good!! and it was fun to be able to order a half gallon container of it to share or bring home. they also have root beer floats that I noticed later, which is a fun summer treat. yum!

 

Leave a Reply

