Rebecca's Gluten Free Blog

Gluten Free in the Upper Midwest

Gluten Free Pizza: my recipe October 4, 2011

Filed under: Cooking & Baking — rebeccagf @ 10:25 am
Tags: , ,

I make gluten free pizzas every weekend. (pizza Sundays!) not only do I love them, but my “normal diet” friends and family do as well. in fact, one “normal diet” friend enjoyed my pizzas so much that she was searching out my special gluten free ingredients to make them herself! there’s nothing tricky about them, I don’t make anything from scratch, it’s just a good combination of ingredients. here’s what I use:

1 Udi’s pizza crust

about a 1/3 jar of Davanni’s pizza sauce (found at most grocery stores in the Twins Cities metro)

4 oz mozzarella (I use goat cheese mozzarella)

fresh basil~ I tear into little pieces and scatter on top the cheese, about 1-2 large leaves or more smaller ones

Hormel pepperoni (about 15 slices)

cook at 375 for about 15 minutes, give or take, depending on how well the cheese melts and how crispy the pepperoni becomes

the basil is very important~ I think it’s probably the key part. if you don’t have basil, fresh oregano leaves work as well, but I prefer the basil. in a pinch, dried herbs or Italian herb mixtures will help, but won’t make them nearly as good. I recommend getting an actual basil plant~ these are usually available year-round in the produce section of Kowalski’s. it costs about the same as a package of leaves but can last much longer.

obviously, you can add any other toppings that you like. and if you enjoy sausage pizza, I would recommend going to Kowalski’s for this as well, where they have an italian sausage mixture (mild or spicy). then fry it up, (preferably in some leftover bacon grease), before adding it on top the pizza before placing it in the oven. this sausage mixture is not in actual sausage casings, it’s just the mixture, and it’s perfect for lasagna as well.

I hope you enjoy as much as I do!

 

Leave a Reply

