Rebecca's Gluten Free Blog

Gluten Free in the Upper Midwest

Original Pancake House September 25, 2014

I love Pizza Luce’s brunches (and bloody marys) so much so that I procrastinated on trying the Original Pancake House for quite some time. but now that I’ve been there, difficult decisions must be made every time I go for breakfast/ brunch! both are completely amazing.

the first time I went to the OPH, I went to the Edina location. thankfully a friend told me to call ahead and get on the wait list. this doesn’t get you a table when you arrive, but it does get you on a shorter one. one time I called ahead and there was no wait, but I still asked to be on the call-ahead list, and it was an hour-long wait for walk-ins by the time I got there 15 minutes later! be sure to call a good half an hour before you plan to arrive, to be safe.

I was amazed at the huge gluten free menu that they carry~ they are very thorough in providing TONS of options!! we’re talking pancakes, waffles, crepes, french toast, and omelets. all have tons of options for toppings, add-ins, and syrups, as well as several choices on pancake sizes: normal, the short stack (plenty for one person!), the dollar-pancake size, and junior/ senior meal plate sizes. sides include hashbrowns, eggs, and options on bacons and sausages. and don’t worry, even with incredibly reasonable prices, they said that they run through the options to optimize the deals for you.

on my first trip, I tried my an old favorite of mine, GF pancakes with strawberries and whipped cream (it was amazing!) and sampled of my friend’s GF pancakes with chocolate chips (also good, but would be too sweet for me to eat a full plate of). we also had a side of hashbrowns. I love potatoes, so I was very hesitant to share an order, but I was sure glad that I did! they fill a side plate, and are about one inch high. the hashbrowns alone elevated OPH towards the top of my restaurant list 🙂

the next time I went, I went with a larger group of family, this time to the Roseville location (a much bigger location, it felt like). we all ordered gluten free so that we could all sample everything, which was an amazing feast! we had banana pancakes (and ordered the decadent caramel topping for them, which tastes like caramel rolls), the blueberry pancakes, a rather boring-in-comparison waffle that came with some fun syrups (not that we couldn’t have ordered a more fun waffle…), and another order of strawberry pancakes. we got a plate filled with all kinds of little syrup containers. one surprising crowd-pleaser was a citrus syrup. no one thought they’d like it, but loved it once they tried it. and of course we got more hashbrowns too 🙂 a must!

next time I’d really love to try a crepe, as it’s been a very long time since I’ve had one, and I love french toast too. there are just too many options to decide! hopefully I’ll be able to sample a whole batch of new things though, that feast was definitely the way to go~ and I don’t think they charged extra for gluten free, nor were the options limited that much. so the gluten-eaters were completely happy getting gluten free, luckily for me!

there are several locations: Eden Prairie, Edina, Plymouth, Roseville (Maple Grove’s Original Pancake House is a different restaurant, which I’ll write about shortly)

 

Leave a Reply

